To nominate a community member for the Telluride Foundations’ 2022 Citizen of the Year click HERE. Nominations forms are due August 31, 2022


Congratulations Corinne Cavender, Lollie Lavercombe, & Cara Wilder on being the 2021 Citizens of the Year!

The Telluride Foundation’s Citizen of the Year Award is in recognition of “someone who has unselfishly contributed to the Telluride regional community’s quality of life through volunteerism, community service or philanthropy.” The recipient(s) is nominated though an open community process and selected by the Board of Directors. The recipient(s) receives a grant of $5,000 to be given in their name to the local nonprofit of their choice and a commemorative plaque. After all nominations are in, past recipients of the award are responsible for evaluating all the nominations and deciding on three finalists, with the Telluride Foundation board selecting the ultimate 2022 recipient.

corrine cara lollie 2021 citizen of the year

While the pandemic created unprecedented challenges, it also created a strong sense of community with neighbors helping each other overcome a myriad of obstacles, including health, financial, schooling, safety, and childcare. The Telluride Foundation’s Board of Directors was given the difficult task of selecting the 2021 Citizen of the Year, an award which honors such community volunteers, at its bi-annual meeting on December 29, 2021. The Foundation received nominations from the community for the award, with each one being deserving. The Foundation board named a team of mental health advocates, made up of Corinne Cavender, Lollie Lavercombe, and Cara Wilder, as the 2021 winner for their exemplary volunteerism in such an important topic plaguing many, especially through the pandemic. The Telluride Foundation will hold a community celebration in the spring.

Our 2021 winners share this honor with Terry Tice (2003), Lissa Margetts (2004), John Micetic (2005), Bill Carstens (2006), John Pryor and Jane Hickcox (2007), Kathy Green (2008), Marilyn Branch (2009), Dan and Greer Garner and Andrea Benda (2010) and Billy “Senior” Mahoney (2011), Anne Brady (2012), Dean Rolley (2013), Kristin Holbrook (2014), Gary Freedman (2015), Elaine Fischer (2016), Wendy Brooks (2017), Susan Rice (2018), Barb Gross (2019), and San Miguel County Search and Rescue (2020) and the Ouray County Good Neighbor Fund Founders:  Cat & Barthold Lichtenbelt and Marti & Partick O’Leary (2020).

To view the Foundation’s Citizen of the Year Nomination form, click HERE.