NOMINATIONS OPEN FOR THE 2016 OUTSTANDING CITIZEN Telluride Foundation’s Annual Award Recognizes Exceptional Community Members

  • Published
  • On May 16, 2016
firemen citizen banner 2015

TELLURIDE, Colo. (May 5, 2016) – Who makes our community great? Who are those unsung heroes? The Telluride Foundation created the Outstanding Citizen award to honor individuals who unselfishly make extraordinary contributions to the community. Nominations are now being solicited from the entire regional community for the 2016 award. The recipient will be announced in July.

“The Outstanding Citizen Award is a celebration of people and their impact on our community,” said Telluride Foundation President and CEO, Paul Major. “We are proud of everyone nominated and want to share the passion of these community members”.  The Telluride Foundation’s Citizen of the Year award is in recognition of someone who has unselfishly contributed to the Telluride regional community’s quality of life. The regional community is defined as San Miguel, Ouray, and West Montrose counties as well as Rico). The recipient will receive a commemorative plaque and a grant of $5,000 to be given in their name to the local nonprofit of their choice. The 2016 Outstanding Citizen will share the honor with Terry Tice (2003), Lissa Margetts (2004), John Micetic (2005), Bill Carstens (2006), John Pryor and Jane Hickcox (2007), Kathy Green (2008), Marilyn Branch (2009), Dan and Greer Garner and Andrea Benda (2010), Billy “Senior” Mahoney (2011), Ann Brady (2012), Dean Rolley (2013), Kristin Holbrook (2014) and Gary Freedman (2015).

The Foundation is soliciting nominations for the Outstanding Citizen of the Year from the general public. The nomination form is posted on the Telluride Foundation’s website at https://telluridefoundation.org/wp-content/uploads/2016/04/Nomination-Form-for-the-2016-Outstanding-Citizen.pdf.  Nominations are due by 5pm on June 1. Nominators of the finalists will be contacted by the Telluride Foundation to participate in short video nominations, produced by a professional videographer, to show to the Board of Directors at the bi-annual meeting in July.  The video clips will be used by the selection committee and help to enliven the nominee and bring to life their community contributions.  The 2016 recipient will be announced after the Telluride Foundation’s summer board meeting. Please contact Katie Singer at 970-728-8717 or e-mail to katie@telluride.dreaminblog.com with any questions.

Nomination Criteria:

  • Nominee must be a community member of the Telluride region, which includes Ouray, Naturita, Norwood, Nucla, Paradox, Rico, Ridgway, Telluride and Mountain Village.
  • Nominees will be selected based on volunteerism to the Telluride region. Community members who make extraordinary contributions, but in the capacity of a paid position or employment are not eligible.
  • Telluride Foundation Board Members are not eligible.

The Telluride Foundation exists to create a stronger Telluride community through grant making, technical assistance and proactive initiatives.  It is a nonprofit, apolitical community foundation that provides year-round support for local organizations involved in arts, early childhood development, education, athletics, charitable causes, land conservation and other community-wide efforts through technical assistance, education and grant making.  The Foundation makes grant awards to qualified organizations and runs program initiatives to enhance the quality of life for people living and working in the Telluride region.  For more information on the Telluride Foundation, visit www.telluridefoundation.org.